Nature & Magic // Golden Acre Park.

Seen as though it’s a bank holiday, I’ve been reminiscing about all the lovely times I’ve spent at ‘Golden Acre Park’, this weekend. We usually always have a drive up there at some point on a bank holiday weekend, to go for a walk, and a cup of tea in the café…but we haven’t this time! The weather hasn’t been great the last few days though, so maybe it’s for the best.

I’ve been there that many times, that I have tones of pictures. For that reason, I wasn’t sure whether I was going to write a post on the park or not, but I’m just going to pick my favourites.

The truth is, I’ve been visiting Golden Acre Park since I was really young. My Mum was telling me a story just yesterday (that she’s already told me a million times before…she has a habit of doing that! Haha!) of how she and my sisters walked all the way up there with me in the pushchair, when I was super young. Now, when you’re in a car, it only takes 10 minutes to get there, but when you’re walking it’s quite a long way away…I don’t know how they did it!!

The park is a lovely place to visit in any season. On a Summers day, it’s always fun to treat yourself to an ice-cream, and have a lovely stroll in the sun. But even in Winter – it’s glorious! However, if you do visit in the Winter, I would recommend that you wear wellies – it gets quite muddy!

IMG_3631
Yummy Summer…
IMG_0781
Serene Winter…

It’s pretty much a hot spot for dog walkers too! I can understand why though because there’s plenty of space for dogs to run around, and be in an open space.

In the centre of the park is a huge lake filled with all different types of birds, but mainly ducks, of course! Last time I visited, my family and I had the pleasure of meeting the most adorable duckling family. I remember I was feeling a bit under that weather that day, but after seeing those cute little ducklings, and going for a lovely walk – I was feeling tones better.

IMG_0038 (2)

IMG_0044

IMG_0045

IMG_3672

IMG_0178

Of course, if you visit in Spring and Summer you will have the pleasure of seeing the many beautiful, bright flowers that are planted all around the park. As well as the flowers that are sprinkled around, there is also a beautiful garden that is bursting at the seams with them. Also, within the garden there is a hot house that has a stunning pond filled with exotic plants, and fish – it really is a special little corner of the park.

IMG_0066 (2)

IMG_3423

IMG_0062

IMG_3627

IMG_3668

IMG_0051

IMG_0048

IMG_0173

IMG_0047

IMG_0196

IMG_0195

IMG_0188

IMG_0192

One of the things that I absolutely love about Golden Acre Park, is the wildlife. As I said before, there’s quite a lot of birds that reside there, but as well as the birds – there’s also a lot of other critters there too! There is a particular spot within the woodland, that always has squirrels hidden within the trees, waiting for passing walkers to feed them. They’re not shy at all, and are happy to come out and run around.

The little birds in this same part of the woodland area, are exactly the same. Last year, I held out some seeds for a little Sparrow – and it landed on my hand! It was the sweetest moment.

IMG_0055

IMG_0181

IMG_0180

I will leave you with these last few images from the last time I visited Golden Acre Park. It really is a wonderful place to visit if you like to walk, and go on adventurous, magical, nature-filled walks!

IMG_0185
My niece and I loved our little adventure!

IMG_0183

IMG_0184

IMG_0200

 

Leave a Reply

