The Abbey House Museum Gardens.

One of the blessings of having Kirkstall Abbey on my doorstep, is having access to the beautiful gardens and landscapes surrounding it.

Across the road from the Abbey sits the charming, ‘Abbey House Museum’. Like the Abbey, I’ve been visiting the house since I was quite young, and I’ve always loved it there. At the end of the 90’s they did a huge renovation on the house and gardens. I always remember it being special even before the renovation, but having an update is never a bad thing – and it proved to be just as special after the new work had been done.

Not only are the garden encircling the actual Abbey heavenly, but the museums’ gardens are like something from a fairytale. Of course, the gardens are pretty anytime of the year, but it’s in Spring and Summer that they shine.

I’ve taken tones of pictures of the gardens over the years. Actually, I’ve taken quite a lot just over the last few months alone. Here are a few of my favourites.

IMG_2025 (2)
Coffee with a view.

 

Being the coffee addict that I am, one of my favourite things to do when I visit the museum, is to sit in the outside area of the museums café, with a latte. Sitting in such pretty surroundings is so lovely – but sitting in such pretty surroundings with a nice latte is heavenly!

IMG_2028

The gardens are blooming with some of the most beautiful flowers at the moment. Everything from Poppies to Roses are scattered all around these historical grounds – it’s dreamy!!

IMG_2030

IMG_2054
I spy Kirkstall Abbey in the background…

IMG_2038

 

IMG_2040

IMG_2043

 

 

IMG_1873

IMG_2039

IMG_2095

IMG_2060

There’s a few little gates that section off the garden, that I just love. I know what you’re thinking….they’re just gates…but there’s just something about gates in walled gardens…they make everything seem a little magical. Or maybe it’s just me who thinks that.

IMG_2035 (2)

IMG_2036
I think that bee wanted a little on-screen time!! ^^

You wouldn’t think this place was right next to a main road, but it is!! That doesn’t bother the relaxing atmosphere of the gardens, or the abbey though.

IMG_2041 (2)

IMG_2052

And lastly, here is a photo that I took on a rainy, cloudy Spring day a couple of months ago. Despite the dull sky, and not so great weather that day, I still managed to capture the pretty Wisteria climbing the side of the museums walls. I love Wisteria!! I also didn’t realise the Victorian rocking horse was in the window until I looked back at the photo when I got home; I think it looks quite pretty sat there. Ps. I always manage to somehow capture my Mum in at least one of my pictures. I don’t tend to post those ones (not that she would mind if I did! I swear she does it on purpose sometime actually haha!!) But this just happened to be the best picture out of the few that I took so….my Mum got her on-screen time just like the bee in the photo above did! =D

IMG_1891

Just on a side note – I’m still trying to get used to using WordPress. If I’m being honest, it’s actually a bit of a pain to use sometimes!! I’ve noticed that sometimes when I post photos, there’s huge gaps inbetween them. When I’m writing/editing like I am now, they look completely fine, and there’s no gaps. But when I publish the post, there’s these huge gaps. I don’t know why it does that, and I don’t know how to fix it yet….but just to let you know, it’s not my fault (I don’t think lol!!) Working on it….

Thank you for reading!

~April ♥

Leave a Reply

