June Favourites // Extras.

This months favourites/extras will be short and sweet. June has been a generally uneventful month for me…I haven’t even been shopping that much haha!

Summer has now officially kicked in, and so we’ve been lucky enough to have the odd sunny day. As always, the rain and cooler weather has also come along with it too, but at one point I was quite grateful for the break from the humidly, and heat.

Whenever the nice weather comes along, I take it as an opportunity to go visit my second home…Kirkstall Abbey. A cup of coffee in my favourite gardens at the ‘Abbey House Museum’, is becoming a habit.

IMG_2233

All the Lavender in the garden is now in full bloom. With it, the Lavender has brought along a beautiful aroma that lingers in the air, and a happy bunch of busy, buzzing bees.

IMG_2234

IMG_2238

IMG_2236

I’m sure I’ll be spending even more time at Kirkstall Abbey over Summer, so get ready for the photos!!

It’s the ‘Kirkstall Festival’ next Saturday, so I’m excited for that. If you’re from my area in Leeds – you know it’s officially Summer when the ‘Kirkstall Festival’ is on! 😉

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Beauty –

Now that the nice weather is here (well, kind of…) I’ve taken my sunscreen out of its dusty place in my vanity, and put it to good use. If I’m being completely honest, I’m useless when it comes to putting sunscreen on. When you’re on holiday or somewhere that’s always sunny, it becomes part of the daily routine. But when you live in a country with weather as unpredictable as ours, it’s easy to forget. I know, I know, I should put sunscreen on anyway, even when it’s not super sunny…I promise, I’m trying!

In a bid to put more effort into wearing sunscreen this summer, I’ve treated myself to new sunscreen that is specifically for your face. I’m really fussy about what I put on my face because I have really sensitive skin, but I’ve found an SPF that I am absolutely obsessed with at the moment.

IMG_2251 (2)

I’ve always loved the sunscreen brand, ‘Malibu’ (the alcohol isn’t bad either…) so when I spotted this in ‘Home Bargains’ a few weeks ago, I was excited to try it out.

The cream is subtle and surprisingly moisturising. So far, I haven’t had any breakouts or blemishes on my super sensitive skin, which naturally makes me happy! It’s also a great base for makeup. I know that isn’t what it’s used for, but it’s a great plus. I also have combination skin so any sort of cream that I put on my skin has to balance things out, or it doesn’t work for me. When I first tried this one out, I was worried that it would make my skin a little oily, but once it calmed down and settled on my skin, it was fine.

I haven’t really tried the lip balm yet but that’s only because I’m using a different lip balm at the moment. I’m sure it will be fabulous though if it’s anything like the sunscreen.

I can’t remember whether it was £2.99 or £3.99, but either way I think that’s a very reasonable price.

I bought myself a new nail polish this month. To me, nail polish is like shoes….you can never have too many…in my opinion! 😀

I’ve always love ‘Barry M’ as a brand for a few different reasons. I especially love their nail polish range.

IMG_2253 (2)

This was my first time trying the ‘Speedy’ range. I’m super impatient, and for that reason I always end up smudging my nail polish after I’ve only just put it on. It’s annoying. So I decided I would try this ‘speedy’ fast drying nail polish, and I was fairy impressed. I can’t say whether I think it was more fast drying that the usual ‘normal’ nail polishes, but my nails weren’t smudged, so that’s a good sign!

I absolutely adore this colour! It’s called ‘Winning Streak’. I love wearing neutrals on my nails, so this beige/white shade is perfect to me. I do try to wear brighter, pastel colours in Spring/Summer, but I always end up going back to the neutrals. This colour is actually quite bright when it’s on your nails. I’m sure I’ll be wearing it lots over Summer.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A few weeks ago, I was very kindly gifted an Orchid. My very first Orchid. I’m useless at keeping plants and flowers; they always die! You wouldn’t think so considering how much I love them!! But sadly, it’s true.

IMG_2216 (2)

I took this photo a few days ago, and it now only had two flowers left! I’ve been reading up on Orchids as I’ve never owned one before, and so I don’t really know anything about them. Apparently, it’s normal for them to lose their flowers, and if you cut the stems down once they’ve all fallen off, they will grow back. I have no idea what I’m doing though. So if anyone does, please help?! Lol!!

I was a bit worried because I definitely over-watered it at first. I read that over-watering is the worse thing you can do to an Orchid so it’s a bit of a miracle that it’s still alive.

Any tips are very welcome!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Speaking of flowers, the Hydrangea’s in my garden have all blossomed!! I’ve been waiting very impatiently for the last month or so for them to make an appearance, and much to my pleasure, they’re finally here. Ohh it’s the small things in life!

IMG_2250

IMG_2203

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Being the big kid that I am, I just had to buy the special 20 year anniversary addition of ‘Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone’.

IMG_2214

I say I’m being a big kid, but I think a lot of people are when it comes to Harry Potter. I grew up with the books/movies and naturally, I’m still a huge fan – even at this age.

You can buy this addition of the book, in the theme of each Harry Potter ‘house’. I’ve taken the ‘Pottermore’ house quiz twice now, and both times I got placed in ‘Slytherin’….I was thrilled…no really. It’s always considered to be the ‘bad’ house, but that’s just not true! It’s very misunderstood. Being the bossy, independent, passionate, and sometimes a little moody, person that I am – I’ve always felt like I belong in Slytherin….you know, if it was real…

If you’re a Harry Potter fan, or even if you’re not, taking the ‘house’ quiz on Pottermore is lots of fun!

Why don’t you try it for yourself:

https://www.pottermore.com/writing-by-jk-rowling/the-sorting-hat

Let me know which house you get sorted in to!! (And if you’re happy about the choice…)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Music –

Lorde – Melodrama (Album) : Well, I said this album would be amazing, I predicted it, and I was 100% right!! The title of this album suits it perfectly. It’s dramatic, it’s dark, it’s thought provoking…it’s incredible. I can’t tell you what my favourite song is because every track is amazing. However, I will say ‘Liability’ will always have a special place in my heart – it’s beautiful and I relate to it a lot. ‘Writer In The Dark’ is also stunning. ‘Hard Feelings/Loveless’ is also brilliant. So much for me not picking favourites.

The Chainsmokers – My Type : There’s a few songs by ‘The Chainsmokers’ that I always have on repeat. I tend to go through fazes with their music. Last month, ‘Setting Fires’ was on repeat. This month, it’s been ‘My Type’. I think they’re music is super catchy. I don’t particularly relate to their lyrics, and they don’t really make me feel anything, but they’re still good songs.

Lecrae ft. Tori Kelly – I’ll Find You : Every Friday, Spotify creates a playlist called, ‘Your Release Radar’, and it’s basically all the new music that might have been realised that week from the artists that you are following on Spotify. I’m a huge fan of Tori Kelly and I’ve been following her for a while, so this song popped up on that playlist. It’s a very touching song, and the lyrics are really deep….just how I like my songs to be!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

IMG_2230

I’m in a really weird place in my life at the moment. I won’t go into any details but I’ve been here a while. I guess I feel a little stuck, especially when it comes to my career. It’s hard to explain, and even harder to talk about. I’ve always been ambitious and had lots of big dreams. At the moment, I’m no where near where I want to be, and I’m not sure what to do next. I’m trying to figure it all out, I guess.

This quote was on my Pinterest the other day, and it spoke to me. I know these sort of quotes can be a little corny sometimes, but I’m sure a lot of people agree that they can often be relatable. And I’m kind of a fan of words – I think they’re so powerful.

Music is my absolute passion, and so I would love to do something involving music in the future…I’m just not so sure where, when and how. I am hopeful and trying to be optimist, though. That’s all I can do right now…that’s all anyone can do!

Thank you so much for reading this post! I hope you’re doing what you love, and not just what you think you’re supposed to do! 😉

~ April ♥

 

Leave a Reply

